A Year Ago

One year ago today I boarded a plane and made the absurdly long trip back the the States after a fabulous two months in dream land  South Africa. Looking back, of course all I remember are the really great times. It’s easy to forget about the fact that I blew through my spending budget in the first two weeks, or that there were times I felt lonely and missed home so bad, or that I didn’t end up going cage-diving, or that I didn’t pack nearly enough clothes even though I had a suitcase the size of Rhode Island. Cough cough….I left with plenty of clothes because I blew through my budget so quickly…oops. It was worth it, I don’t regret it. The best memories bubble to the surface immediately: the Mrs. South Africa ball, wine, coffee, wine, coffee, wine, wine, chocolate, THE WINCKLERS DUH, Annah, the views, the beaches, the road trip tour with Heinz, the modeling gig with Alette, the ostriches, the Cape, the Strand, Mugg & Bean, watching hours of Nashville IN ENGLISH, loling at myself trying to understand Afrikaans, snuggles with Roo & Simmy & Lian, and of course I’ll say it again, The Wincklers.

How often will I get the chance to live with a pop star? Yeah, probably never again. That’s not even why it was so cool though, they are just the coolest people ever. Thank you Heinz and Alette for the most memorable summer winter ever. Thanks for putting up with me and all my questions, for driving me somewhere new every weekend, for letting me eat all your food and drink all most of your wine, for letting me tag along for everything, for opening your home to me and giving me my own room, for encouraging me and asking me the tough questions, for showing me what it’s like to parent three little ones and not completely lose your sanity, and for loving me like one of your own.

Oh yeah, thanks for letting me be your intern. I really did learn so much and gained the coolest stories and experiences. No joke, I talk about you guys in every interview.

Unfortunately, we were leaving a funeral here, but the landscape was beautiful, but not as beautiful as Alette, obvi.

Unfortunately, we were leaving a funeral here, but the landscape was beautiful, but not as beautiful as Alette, obvi.

Triple threat, miss you both so much!

Triple threat, miss you both so much!

At a wine farm, obviously.

At a wine farm, obviously.

Power couple

Power couple

So many kiddos and I actually loved it.

So many kiddos and I actually loved it.

Mrs. South Africa contestants.

Mrs. South Africa contestants.

Not my date, but Heinz performed at the ball (I got in because I was his "tour manager," riiiiiight).

Not my date, but Heinz performed at the ball (I got in because I was his “tour manager,” riiiiiight).

Babes being babes at the ball.

Babes being babes at the ball.

Seriously...best sunsets ever.

Seriously…best sunsets ever.

Looking over the Strand.

Looking over the Strand.

Oh yeah, I went to a fashion show/Benz launch party/gala on day 2. Take me back.

Oh yeah, I went to a fashion show/Benz launch party/gala on day 2. Take me back.

One last thing, I realize I’ve switched blogs one thousand times, but now I’m back here. Which is funny cause my last post on this one was when I was in SA, time flies.

Leave a Reply

