waka waka

My time here has been short thus far, but the word ‘amazing’ doesn’t do it justice. I’m in love. Not like, ‘I never want to go home’ love or ‘I want to move here as soon as a I graduate’ love, but ‘thank you LORD for bringing me here right now because it’s the perfect place for me to be’ love. You know when you know that you’re in the right place at the right time? Right in the middle of God’s perfect grace? That’s where I am. I’m not saying it’s been a perfect 10 days, but it’s been the right 10 days. Already, I’ve learned so much about the music industry, publicity, marketing, and how real my Father is. 

Last Wednesday, Heinz and I left to go on tour along the southern coast of the country, and it. was. beautiful. This land amazes me. So much of it is untouched and alive. Even in the middle of winter, it’s so green and lush. Simply stunning. As long as I’ve been planning this trip, people have told me (including the locals) that the weather is pretty nasty and it rains all the time. But the few days we were traveling, there was not a cloud in the sky and we had a few ‘warm’ days. I am so so thankful. I loved getting to travel the country by car because it gave me a chance to see everything as it is, not from the sky. 

The tour itself was a whole new experience for me, especially since I don’t speak Afrikaans. But surprisingly enough, I’ve started to pick up on things here and there and can normally figure out at least what the topic of conversation is. South Africans remind me of Europeans in that they talk with their hands and facial expressions almost more than their words, which is really helpful for non-bilingual speakers such as myself. Thank you, South Africans. Since I do find myself in situations quite a bit where I don’t understand what’s being said, I have started to just make up my own conversations (by this I mean I imagine what I think they’re talking about, no that I have conversations with myself in my head). Although sometimes I do think to myself ‘lol, they are for sure talking about me.’ YOLO. When you hear your name in the middle of an Afrikaans conversation, your mind can only wander…

South Africans enjoy a good glass of wine (or 2 or 3 or 5) and hard liquor. So that hasn’t been awful, I’ve been in worse circumstances. Truthfully though, they know how to enjoy life (responsibly), (usually). And the wine is great. I was warned about this too, but it’s true. So true. Wine with lunch at noon? Sure. Wine and a cappuccino at dinner? And after dinner? Absolutely. And right before bed? You bet. (Mom-don’t freak out, I haven’t been partaking as much as the locals). I was a little surprised when I first got here, but I eventually realized it’s just a part of their culture. And it’s not frowned upon and it’s not uncommon, it’s everyday life. Embrace it? Okay. 

Of course they eat food here too. And it’s pretty good. Some of you may know I’m the world’s pickiest eater. That’s hasn’t changed, but I made a commitment to myself before I came that I would try whatever was put in front of me. And I’ve been true to it. And it hasn’t really failed me. Yes, there are a few things that I probably won’t be missing when I’m back in the States, but generally I’ve enjoyed my culinary experience here. Added bonus: they eat avocados like candy here. They’re e.v.e.r.y.w.h.e.r.e. and none of this ‘$2 extra for avo’ crap. Truly a blessing. 

The chocolate deserves its own paragraph. When I come back to the States 20 pounds heavier, it’ll be because of wine and chocolate. But mostly chocolate. I really can’t even explain it. It goes beyond the ‘I’m female so I’m designed to love chocolate.’ The men here love it too, so it’s justified. I’m thinking of checking a whole suitcase of chocolate when I come back, so no worries you can try some. It is divine. 

The people here are true gems. The Winckler’s have been amazing friends/family/hosts/tour-guides/bosses. I am so thankful to be staying and working with them. I can only imagine that this trip would be really difficult if I was living with strangers. Plus, they have introduced me to so. many. people. And so many cool people. I posted some photos earlier this week and Alette commented on the album and said, ‘most of these people are South African’s most well known celebrities.’ As far as how many women/men I’ve met, it’s like a 1:5 ratio. So yeah, things have been good here. South African’s make nice looking people. I can’t complain. Beyond the famous people (there’s a movie producer in the living room right now, so…..groovy) I have met some pretty cool ‘average joes’ who are not average at all. Seriously, I have yet to meet someone who hasn’t welcomed me to their country with open arms. 

Most of you probably know about my ‘not super strong passion for children.’ I am happy to report that these three little boys I’m living with are angels (usually). For real, it has been such a blessing/miracle to get along so well with these boys. They are precious and hilarious and only one of them speaks english (just imagine trying to communicate with a 2 year old who doesn’t speak your language in the first place. again, yolo). They’re loud and they scream and cry and make boy noises and come into my room uninvited, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I really do think I’m going to miss them a whole lot when I leave. But I’m not thinking about that yet, I just got here. 

Some of you know I was a little worried/anxious/not-excited-about-the-fact-that-possibly dogs could live here. I’m happy to report, this is an animal free home. 

To break it all down, I’m living with the coolest family in a house full of wine and chocolate and cute kids and no pets. I’ve already traveled hundreds of miles, I’ve met a lot of hot men (just being honest) and I’m glad I still have a ton of time here. 

Shame, I must go because we’re eating dinner now now. (Translation: Sorry, I must go because we’re eating dinner in an hour or two). CHEERS, (literally)!!!

 

I posted this on facebook yesterday, but I’m back on my Lennon and Maisy kick and this song is i.n.c.r.e.d.i.b.l.e. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZHSGUAxx9MM

One thought on “waka waka

Leave a Reply

