Expectations

A lot of people have been asking me lately what my expectations are for the summer or what I’m hoping to get out of it. The truth is, I have none and I have no idea. I’m going into this summer pretty blind. Blind in terms of not really having any idea what I’ll be doing exactly or what my day-to-day life will look like for the next two months. I didn’t realize until today that the last five months have been so busy that I haven’t really thought twice about this trip. I haven’t had time to sit down and think, “what am I hoping to gain from this summer/how am I hoping to grow as a person?” Nope, haven’t thought about it. I guess living on the other side of the world for a summer could change the way you view things a little bit. But that didn’t cross my mind untilย today.ย And I leave in two and a half weeks. That’s not much time to figure anything out. Thankfully, I’m completely at peace with not figuring anything out.Image

Usually when people ask me about the summer and what I’ll be doing I say something along the lines of, “I have no idea, but that’s what I’m most excited about.” It’s true. The unknown gives me a thrill. It brings me to a place of complete vulnerability. I think that’s the best place to be right now. The only thing I’m really expecting from this experience is that the Lord will shake me and show up to tell me that “it’s okay.” I know two people in South Africa. But I know theย God who created South Africa and all the people in it, so I think I’m set. I don’t have any idea what this summer will look like or what kind of stories I’ll have when I get back. But isn’t that the best part?

 

If you think of it, I wouldn’t hate it if you wanted to say some prayers for me while I’m there. Pray for the travel, the people I’ll be working with, the relationships I’ll make, and for my mom: that she won’t be too concerned about me never wanting to come home.ย In theory I’ll blog all summer, but no promises.

Leave a Reply

