brokenness

do you ever feel like you have it all together and then three minutes later realize how messed up you are? i feel like that a lot, but in a good way. like “ah yes, I know what’s wrong with me! i need to be more loving.” and then i’m all like “oh shoot, that’s true but i’m also a self-righteous brat.” like that. like feeling so excited that the Lord revealed something new about my heart, but then constantly learning that there’s a million other things that are wrong with it. my attitude, my pride, my selfishness, my jealousy, myΒ thoughts. ooh my, i could write seven hundred post about how thoughts take over my life. definitely still working on that area of my heart. because really, it’s a heart issue.

aaanyways, what i’m saying is that brokenness is a good thing. it means we are seeking the darkness within us and asking that the Lord clean it up and make it new and good. it’s a constant act, really. asking the Lord to shed light on my darkness and taking action when He does. asking that He make it clean, because y’all HE is the only one who can make it clean. i’d love to be able to go in there with a swiffer and some clorox and clean it myself so that i don’t have to admit that it needs cleaning, but that just isn’t how it works. but my goodness i’m always having to find enough humility to admit my darkness to the Lord once HE shows it to me. isn’t it funny that even though He is the one who reveals it we are still too ashamed to admit it and get it taken care of? maybe it’s just me. either way, listen to this song because it’s so good and true and amazing. p.s. happy saturday πŸ™‚

 

One thought on “brokenness

Leave a Reply

