faithful

“But you, LORD, are a compassionate and gracious God, slow to anger, abounding in love and faithfulness.” psalm 86:15. 

     I was supposed to go home right after class today and go to a UNC basketball game with my mom, which we all know was going to be incredibly exciting for me (tarheel born and tarheel bred…), however, the Lord had other plans, because I had car trouble instead. So, here I am, in Boone. With two purchased UNC tickets. I’m sure mom won’t have a hard time finding someone to go with her. Regardless, I’m still sad about missing the game, and of course getting to see my mom. There will be other games.
    Moral of the story, I landed here in Panera, with my bible and journal. (Also, since I had planned on being gone, I went ahead and got all my homework done yesterday). Now I have lots of free time, for the next 24-hours at least. I guess this is a good time to get some journaling and pondering done. I love finding a passage, and focusing on it. Looking up words, reading and re-reading it, praying about it, writing down thoughts, listening to songs about it. Or, picking a word and doing all those things with it. So faithfulness was the winner. This song is what really provoked my thinking. (Beautifully written and performed by the sweet Jon and Kelley Owens). But really, what a great word. Those last few words that I italicized in that verse, are incredible. Go read them again. Read them in your bible. Underline them. Highlight them. Think about them.
     I picked a few words I wanted to look up, abounding and faithful. Before I did, I wrote down my initial thoughts on those words. Here’s what I got:

abounding:
over abundance
never ending
forgiving
gracious
faithful:
constant
never ending
never changing
loving
Then I looked up what they actually mean:
abounding:
exist in large numbers or amounts
faithful:
loyal, constant and steadfast
     I’m not going to lie, I was hoping the “abounding” definition was going to be more profound or deep. Maybe something along the lines of, “a bountiful plenty.” Oh well, my definitions don’t always win. So I don’t really have much to say about that one. But faithful. faithful. faithful. This is a sweet definition. This is one I was excited to see. loyal, constant and steadfast. Abounding does have to deal with large numbers, so if you could have large numbers of loyalty, consistency, or steadfast (plural?), then that is who the Lord is. He is absolutely loyal. That has been evident in my own life. He has certainly been constant. Psalm 100:5 says, “For the Lord is good and his love endures forever; his faithfulness continues through all generations.” Forever, I’m deciding right now that that is the equivalent of constant, same idea at least. And steadfast, also a similar term for consistency and forever.  I could go on and define the words found in the definitions too, but I’ll let you look that up yourself. Go on and be amazed more by the bible. It happens to me every time I open it.  
    Remember the Lord’s faithfulness. It’s so easy to forget. But I am positive that he has not failed you up to this very point, because you’re alive, and you’re reading this, and maybe you went and cracked open your bible to look at these verses on your own. Maybe you listened to the song. Maybe you were encouraged. In the end, the Lord is faithful. He has faithful brought you to this day. What a blessing to rejoice about! Remember his faithfulness, even when it doesn’t seem evident. 
[I took this the other night during my quiet time. I’m so in love with these mountains.]
     
Leave a Reply

